The Diesel Stop banner

1994 7.3 "starving" issue

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  themule67 
#1 ·
Hello everyone I've been having some issues lately with my 1994 7.3.

First off I'm no diesel expert so anything you can offer would be very much appreciated. So where do we start..
Lately my truck has been having issues keeping running in the morning. It will start just fine and ill let it start to warm up. After 20 seconds or so idling it starts struggling to idle or even raise the rpm's. Constantly dies and barely will run. It sputters and dies sputters and dies. Also I have a 6 position chip . On stock mode once the problem starts the throttle won't budge "normally". So ill switch it through the hp settings and will ask more lively on any position other that stock. After starting it over and over for 10 to 15 minutes trying to clear it out it will run fine all day. I've unhooked the ICP to see it that's the problem its not. Replaced the fuel filter few months ago.

Truck was sitting for 5 years tell I could get it fixed but was running fine for 6 months tell now. Could it be as simple as the oil is contaminated from sitting for so long? Oil was changed when the mechanic fixed it.

Thank you

#2 ·