The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i bought this used truck.. previous owner said it needs a new pcm to run.. got a used one but no much happens... the dash turns on , wait to start, oil light... no crank from ignition but i can get the motor to turn over from starter solenoid. what should i check? batterys are at 12.2 volts.. i got power to starter solenoid and glow plug solenoid.. im new to diesel motors

·
Registered
10,653 Posts
Welcome! We'll need some more information. Year, Auto or Manual trans, any modifications that you know of, any other recent work? Do you know if you got a correct used PCM for your particular truck? Cheers!

·
Registered
1,863 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,830 Posts
It should be good. My truck is a 96 with a manual and the PCM is a ALF4.

Have you checked the neutral safety switch on the clutch?

Are you getting any smoke out of the tailpipe when the engine is turning over?

On the top of the high pressure oil pump on the top front of the engine is a plug that you can remove with a allen key. Take it out and see what the oil level is in it. It should be within 1/2" of the top. If it is low fill it with the same oil that you put into the engine. Then try to start.

Reactions: chadster710

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It should be good. My truck is a 96 with a manual and the PCM is a ALF4.

Have you checked the neutral safety switch on the clutch?

Are you getting any smoke out of the tailpipe when the engine is turning over?

On the top of the high pressure oil pump on the top front of the engine is a plug that you can remove with a allen key. Take it out and see what the oil level is in it. It should be within 1/2" of the top. If it is low fill it with the same oil that you put into the engine. Then try to start.