The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, I am a new member and need help. Also I am not a mechanic so I REALLY need help.
I just purchased a 1999 F350 Crew Cab diesel and I was drivinf along at speed and the truck just lost power and died. I tried unsuccessfully to re-start it.
The engines cranks strong, but no ignition. Seems as though it's out of fuel. I have over 1/2 a tank though.
Just prior to buying the truck the prior owner told me this same thing happened to him and he had it towed to his mechanic who replaced the fuel pump. I picked the truck up 2 days after the pump was replaced.

I have had the truck for 2 weeks and driven over 650 miles. Well today while driving I made a sudden turn and about 200 yards later the truck died.

What I did notice that was odd, was that now the WTS light doesn't come on when I turn the key to the "ON" position.

Any help would be appreciated.
PS: The truck was a pure joy to drive and own until this happened. So much power for towing.

·
Premium Member
14,525 Posts
1999 F350 7.3 died and wont start

Unplug the fuel heater on the back of the fuel filter housing, replace fuse #30 and start it up.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
It sounds like your fuel bowl heater has shorted out. Check your fuses and unplug the heater on the rear of the filter bowl.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I had a similar
My early 99 F350 was idling when I went in for a subway sandwich and when I came out it was very quiet. Would turn over great but no starting.
Had it towed.
Ended up being the fuel heater mounted on the frame near the drivers seat.
Another possibility for ya

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
The fuel filter housing .......