The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This was my answer to another post. I now have pictures up on my photos.

This is how mine was done.

I was at my dealer today and talked to a tech friend of mine named Gary. I'm not very good at rubbing my belly and patting my head. Garry took the computer and shut off the seat belt reminder. :thumbsup:

Next, he ran the wiring diagram to shut the chime off for the key in the ignition and the door open. Remove the kick panel behind the emergency brake. In the wiring loom look for two (2) green wires with a purple line. I'm color blind so I had to take Gary's word on the colors. One of these wires will be the one you want to disable the chime for the key in the ignition and the door open. It also disables the chime when the key is in the accessories position and the door open.

With the key in the ignition, stick a probe into one of the green/purple stripe wires and ground it. If the chime quits, you found it. If it doesn't, its the other green/purple striped wire. :eek:hyeah:

Gary spliced a wire off of the the correct green/purple striped wire and ran it to a toggle switch. Then he ran a ground to the toggle switch. This way my chime works normal in the off position. Flip the switch on and no chime when the door is open.

I hope this helps you out.

Shawn :guiness:

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
This may help.

Sunday I helped a buddy of mine do his truck. I suggested he ignore the first green/purple striped wire. The correct wire is deeper in the wire loom. We found it and it was the correct one. Hit it on the first try.

Shawn

·
Registered
103 Posts
With this mod, does the chime still work if you leave the lights on and take the key out?

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Key chime!

With this mod, does the chime still work if you leave the lights on and take the key out?