The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at buying a late '80's t/a dump. Most that I look at have either the 3306 or L10 with about 280-300hp. 8LL trans. Any opinions on which engine is better in a dump? I am new to the heavy truck scene!

·
Registered
2,966 Posts
I hope it's flat where you live, no hills!! I have a 300 hp in my single axle Mack. Most tandems and tri-axles around here are running at least 400 hp engines. but with that said, I know the L-10 is a really good engine, I don't know much about the 3306. you can get away with a lower HP engine if you have more gears, say a 13 or 15 speed.

·
Registered
100 Posts
The 3306 is a good engine which it looks like you already know with that old 235. The engine prolly still runs great but the hydrolics are getting bad by now right? A lot of equipment has the 3306 and theyre all good running machines. I would go for the Cat engine since you already have Cat equipment so you have more of the same stuff. Thats just me though...
Chris

·
Registered
747 Posts
Where I work we have a '90 International tandem dump with a 3306. It moves along fairly well, but not near as well as the Ford tandem and triaxle with the 3406 Cats. I have no experience with the L10. As for the Tranny, I think you will like the 8LL.

Stephen

·
Registered
214 Posts