The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning, guys. Im somewhat new to the sight. This forum comes highly recommended by my brother and friends.
I had my 2014 6.7l deleted a couple of years ago. Done by a ford tech at his home garage. Went with H&S mini maxxtuner. Everything runs great as far as that, but since then, I’ve had a strange (and very random) problem. Probably 6 or eight times over the last year, my instrument cluster shuts down. All instruments in the dash go blank. Sometimes it all comes right back up, sometimes I’ve run it for a few miles and it eventually boots back up. If I shut the vehicle off, while the instruments are shut off, it will not restart. It eventually bots back up and starts after I wiggle the group of wires under the dash and/or disconnect/reconnect the CAN bus. If I continue to run the truck, it runs rough but will continue to run. The only light that stays on in the dash, is the gear shift indicator. Seems like random gremlins are running around in there.... lol.... Any help would be greatly appreciated. Any ideas on where to start? I’ve popped the CAN bus off, cleaned up those 3 terminals, and put some di-electric grease on them. Problem still persists on occasion.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Sounds like a ground issue, or worse the harness has rubbed into a bracket and is getting grounded. Get a strong flashlight, and some Tylenol and crawl up under and inspect the entire harness.

·
Registered
4,684 Posts