The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
2001 F-250 7.3L
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to owning a 7.3L and have read all kinds of great info on this site but can't seem to find anything in the last 10 years about which oil and filter types (synthetic or conventional) or brands are best.
There have been some upgrades over the last few years in oil and filter quality and I would assume some downgrades (as in maybe a great filter 15 years ago is made with lower standards and inferior products today).
I'm looking for any helpful advice!
Thank you in advance!

P.S. I have also been learning about filter magnets and wonder if yall still recommend using them.

·
Premium Member
15,406 Posts
There may be changes, but sometimes the tried and true is the way to go. I still use Motorcraft filters and Shell Rotella 15W40 or Delo 400. Granted, I don't do my oil analysis often, but I just got one back. You be the judge.

Attachments

Reactions: Oneof6

·
Premium Member
10,008 Posts
I have ran Valvoline 15w-40 in my truck since it was new along with either a Wix or Motorcraft filter.

I see no need to try and find a new and or so called better oil.

·
Administrator
27,247 Posts
Filter magnets are good for sucking the money out of your wallet. ;)
The oil specs change over the years, but still any Diesel rated oil is fine. There are guys that have run Walmart branded oil and have had no issues. I run Delo 400.

·
Premium Member
2,445 Posts
I don't use Marvel Mystery Oil but whenever I can catch a radioactive Cat I suit up and squeeze some radioactive Cat P into my fuel. I have tried Opossum P but it just made my truck stall out.;)

·
Registered
7 Posts
I'm new to owning a 7.3L and have read all kinds of great info on this site but can't seem to find anything in the last 10 years about which oil and filter types (synthetic or conventional) or brands are best.