The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I should warn you, I am not a mechanic in ANY sense of the word. I can look things up on Google and follow directions, but I have no diagnostics abilities and feel like the town fool when trying to talk engines. That being said, my main transportation (F350) is acting up and we really don't have the money to take it to a real mechanic, so I grabbed a 6 pack and my laptop and did my best.

About a month ago, my truck was running fine. I plugged an inverter into the cigarette lighter to charge my cell phone and run my laptop an 2-3 days later it would't start. I figured I had run the batteries down by leaving the inverter plugged so I ran to Walmart and bought a new battery. (The truck has 2 batteries, but I figured right that 1 new battery would at least get me home.) After arriving home, I bought a charger and plugged the truck up. After charging for 2 days, still not working so I took all three batteries up to my local parts shop (LPS) and asked them to test them. They said all the batteries were good that they just need to be charged more. Turns out there is a difference in chargers and the one I bought was light duty so I took the light duty one back and bought the heavy duty charger. Left it plugged in for another 2 days and it was making a clicking noise when I turned the key but wouldn't start. My neighbor suggested replacing the starter, so I took out the starter (thank you Google) and took it to the local LPS. They tested it and it checked out ok. They suggested changing the solenoid on the left side firewall, so I changed that out and it started turning over, but it still wouldn't start. A Google search later and it seemed to me to be the glow plugs, back to the LPS and bought 8 new glow plugs and changed out 4 of them before it got dark.