The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
556 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running stacks for a few years on my 97 and my old 88 had stacks too. I haven't driven my truck in a few months (paint job work) but I was talking to a guy I know, and he claims he isn't going to do stacks because he was informed that the cops are immediately pulling guys over with stacks. I told him that I don't think this is true. I got my truck inspected in October with no problems, and I have never had a cop give me a second look in the past, but I keep the noise and smoke down.
Just curious is anyone has actually had a real problem....that they didn't bring on themselves.....like fogging out entire streets, etc.
Just curious,
Jerry

· Registered
3,689 Posts
It is all interpertation of the current laws.

Federal law state the is to be no alteration of stock exhaust system of any kind for any reason.

That being said there are millions of people that have...............

· Registered
20 Posts
Jerry,

I see a lot of trucks running around my neck of the woods that have stacks. Have'nt noticed any of them pulled over. Being a past state inspector and bearing the law has not changed; I could not reject a vehicle unless it had a leak in the system or the converters where altered or removed. As an inspector we could not reject based on noise level either.

There very well may be a federal law about alteration however I am not aware of it.

· Registered
556 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Jerry,

I see a lot of trucks running around my neck of the woods that have stacks. Have'nt noticed any of them pulled over. Being a past state inspector and bearing the law has not changed; I could not reject a vehicle unless it had a leak in the system or the converters where altered or removed. As an inspector we could not reject based on noise level either.

There very well may be a federal law about alteration however I am not aware of it.