The Diesel Stop banner

61 - 79 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Thanks for the input about the six gun. I'm not sure if I will do the tuner first or get an exhaust for the truck because that big thing needs a rumble. I hate stock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Well, I just sent mine back to Banks yesterday. I gave it a year and just too many quirks with it, I hope they fix it.

The last straw was the windshield mount, everyday it and the IQ laying on the dash!

As I posted before I have read all of the increases in pulling power from others but... I don't feel it, from level 1 to 6 all the same.

A good friend has the exact truck and slide in camper right down to the color, his 100% stock, mine the IQ/Sixgun and we are neck an neck every grade we have ever pulled. In fact heading through northern California he swears a few times if he wanted to, going up a grade, he could go around me and mine was on level four!

Hopefully they find something really wrong with my system and fix or replace it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,742 Posts
I just did a round trip to Colo and back. level 2. Granted not much weight but returned over 13 mpgs.

Aprox 6500-7K lbs.

I mounted mine where the 4x4 switches would be if I had them. Since mine is manual 4x4 that spot was blank.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
I just did a round trip to Colo and back. level 2. Granted not much weight but returned over 13 mpgs.

Aprox 6500-7K lbs.

I mounted mine where the 4x4 switches would be if I had them. Since mine is manual 4x4 that spot was blank.
I would love to see mileage like that but with 4:88's and the extra weight of the 450 it's never going to happen.

However it would be nice to see a difference in power from stock to level 3 or 6 for that matter. No change other than many more regens.

I didn't buy the truck or the Banks/ IQ looking for fuel mileage, but it sure should have at least the same power as my 7.3 or my 6.0 does.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
Does the new IQ FLASH works on Fords without the 6 gun tuner?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
I will be finding out soon, just ordered mine today. I am only doing the IQ now and the 6 gun later although I ordered them both. Jeg's has a sale on them right now 899.99 for both.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,320 Posts
They have a new iQ flash, but it only works on the new iQ model, 3rd generation, they are in the process of releasing. It won't work on the 1st or 2nd gen versions. An update for those will come out a little later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
the earlier units required a tuner to work on the Ford even if you didn't tune.

Does the new work without the tuner?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,320 Posts
Haven't confirmed yet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
I finished up the install on the IQ and 6 Gun on my 08 F450, You need the tuner to get all the functions of the IQ like gauges and the alert parameters. I will take it out tomorrow for the transmission learning curve, hardest part of the install is that turbo actuator plugin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,742 Posts
I finished up the install on the IQ and 6 Gun on my 08 F450, You need the tuner to get all the functions of the IQ like gauges and the alert parameters. I will take it out tomorrow for the transmission learning curve, hardest part of the install is that turbo actuator plugin.
it gets easier with the turbo actuator. I think I have had mine off about 3 times.

The trans learning is alot of fun.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,320 Posts
I finished up the install on the IQ and 6 Gun on my 08 F450, You need the tuner to get all the functions of the IQ like gauges and the alert parameters. I will take it out tomorrow for the transmission learning curve, hardest part of the install is that turbo actuator plugin.
Yeah, Turbo Actuator is a piece of cake compared to the Brake Actuator. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
I've been eyeing that Jegs $889.99 deal. What do you guys think of the new IQflash? Wouldn't using your IQ for a NAV unit kinda defeat the purpose of having all the gauges? I've skimmed through the manual on line and didn't see anything that addressed this. It would be nice to have a voice NAV, that told you when to turn (with enough advance warning of course), while still being able to monitor your gauges.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,742 Posts
I've been eyeing that Jegs $889.99 deal. What do you guys think of the new IQflash? Wouldn't using your IQ for a NAV unit kinda defeat the purpose of having all the gauges? I've skimmed through the manual on line and didn't see anything that addressed this. It would be nice to have a voice NAV, that told you when to turn (with enough advance warning of course), while still being able to monitor your gauges.
I don't use th nav as I have that in an aftermarket radio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,320 Posts
I've been eyeing that Jegs $889.99 deal. What do you guys think of the new IQflash? Wouldn't using your IQ for a NAV unit kinda defeat the purpose of having all the gauges? I've skimmed through the manual on line and didn't see anything that addressed this. It would be nice to have a voice NAV, that told you when to turn (with enough advance warning of course), while still being able to monitor your gauges.
I have the NAV, and the only benefit I see is using the iQ in another vehicle. The NAV will function without the use of it being connected to the SixGun. But I have a TomTom also, so guess which one I use.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Looking for updated info

I know this is an old thread... I am currently having these issues with my IQ. Has anyone confirmed that the flash worked? I have the A5 power button on top. I don't know much about this tuner. I bought my truck last april and it was already installed on it. I also seen mention on the 6.4 PSD, I have a 6.0... Any help would be much appreciated!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
So far, I have bought 2 of the Banks Systems for vehicles that I own and have found them to be steadfast at standing behind their products with support and advice where needed.

My first Banks product was a complete intake and exhaust system for my 98 Fleetwood Motor-home, which was a very easy install and has worked great ever since.

I also bought the complete Banks Big Hoss Bundle with dual exhaust, for my 2008 F350 Super Duty, Super Cab, DRW, 4x4 back in Feb 2011.
I have already installed the Cold Air kit and the Inter-cooler but due to things such as working overseas,,,, an issue with the original exhaust on my truck,,,, and other thing in my life,,,, the truck has sat and I have not finished the install of the whole package yet, (I know, lazy, LOL).
Anyway, my IQ 2.0 has the button on the top and I have also done an update in I believe 2012 to the IQ 2.0 but it has never been hooked up, so I hope it is all good.
I ran into issue with the exhaust because when I bought the truck, it had a modified exhaust and they had removed the CAT/DPF and replaced it with a welded in, home made section of pipe.
As evidenced by my new membership on this forum, I am now getting back to showing an interest in finishing my truck and will be actively getting what I need to finish the exhaust install as well as then installing the Six Gun and IQ 2.0 install.
My truck has run just fine with just the Cold Air kit and inter-cooler but I did not pay all that money just to let the rest of the bundle sit on a shelf in my garage.

After reading all of these responses, I sure hope that mine was "post problem" manufactured.

I am not sure which generation my IQ 2.0 is but the information on the back of the unit is as follows:
UIC code: 61162A2012032900261,
Windows Embedded CE 6.0 Core,
00039-531-243,
X13-12066.

I also got the portable stereo speaker with the bundle, not sure if that means anything, LOL.

Jeff, if you read this and could enlighten me on if my equipment is good to go or not, I would appreciate it, Thanks...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I recently purchased the Banks Six-Gun Tuner and iQ 2.0 (about 6 months ago) and I saw the first crash (Application error) during the first week it was installed. It's a daily routine to restart my iQ in order for it function. As my day to day job is an IT Consultant, my opinion on the freezing is related to the version of Microsoft Windows CE that the iQ App is running on. Windows Embedded CE 6.0 was released by Microsoft November of 2006. Really Banks? That's really out-of-date. Hey, maybe you could use some IT Consulting help getting a stable Operating System to run your iQ App on. I may know somebody :)

Hello Banks, I hope you’re paying attention here.

If you are running a Windows CE or Windows Embedded Handheld today, these are the dates to be aware of:

June 10, 2018 - Windows Embedded CE 6.0 will be End of Life
June 9, 2019 - Windows Embedded 8.1 Handheld will be End of Life
January 14, 2020 - Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 will be End of Life
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
I recently purchased the Banks Six-Gun Tuner and iQ 2.0 (about 6 months ago) and I saw the first crash (Application error) during the first week it was installed. It's a daily routine to restart my iQ in order for it function. As my day to day job is an IT Consultant, my opinion on the freezing is related to the version of Microsoft Windows CE that the iQ App is running on. Windows Embedded CE 6.0 was released by Microsoft November of 2006. Really Banks? That's really out-of-date. Hey, maybe you could use some IT Consulting help getting a stable Operating System to run your iQ App on. I may know somebody :)

Hello Banks, I hope you’re paying attention here.

If you are running a Windows CE or Windows Embedded Handheld today, these are the dates to be aware of:

June 10, 2018 - Windows Embedded CE 6.0 will be End of Life
June 9, 2019 - Windows Embedded 8.1 Handheld will be End of Life
January 14, 2020 - Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 will be End of Life



Maybe this is why Banks no longer supports IQ update files..!? ***...BANKS! I went from the Power PDA (BEST IMO), to the Banks IQ (Button on top) and 3 6 gun units on my truck..! I'm done with there trash! Only reason i'm looking into this thread is because I bought another 05 6.0 that came with the 6 gun and IQ installed. The currently installed IQ has issues and software version is different from my IQ that was previously from my other truck which works fine just does not have the speed brake installed on it.. Trying to find software for this is a joke.. Looks like I'll be installing another SCT on this truck if I can't get this IQ to work properly...
 

Attachments

61 - 79 of 79 Posts
Top