The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all I'm new to this whole forum thing and to diesels, I've recently purchased a 2000 f250 and was wondering was the best programmer is for this type of motor? I have some buddies telling me to go with edge. Does a programmer also replace aftermarket guages since it can read tranny temp, turbo boost etc... this is just what I've heard. Any info on these things would help tremendously!

·
Registered
936 Posts
This is a big debate are for its of people but overall you will do better getting a programmer that is custom configured for your truck than a "one-size-fits-all" type of programmer. Something like what is offered by DP Tuners, Beans Diesel, PHP, etc. is what I'd be looking at. Personally I have been very happy and impressed with DP Tuners. You'll be surprised (read "grinning") at the performance lying dormant in these motors that a good tuner can wake up into live tooth bearing action :) Regardless of how you go an EGT gauge is the bare minimum and practically speaking really needed gauge. The others are nice to have to monitor things but the EGT gauge is what you'll be driving by to keep from harming your motor. Depending upon what you do in mods to your motor will help you decide what kind of tunes you'll want to ask for. An 80HP daily driver tune is more than enough for most folks with an unmodified motor. You can always change the tunes as you do more to your motor.

·
Premium Member
14,377 Posts
I second DP-Tuner. You can use an Edge to monitor things, but never for its programming. A better choice if you want a combination gauge display with tunes is the Infinity DX. Or, just get the tuner and get a Scangauge II to watch a few parameters. Either way, you'll need something extra for EGT as it's not monitored from the factory.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
809 Posts