The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at used and see a lot of 6.4 and 6.0's for sale. Don't know anything about 6.4 my last was a 7.3 and loved it, but they are hard to find. What is the general as to 6.4 or best year fro 6.0?

·
Registered
87 Posts
I am no expert but I am friends that are. I was instructed to stay far away from any 6.4... I have owned 4 different 6.0's I was told 05-07 are the better ones.

·
Super Moderator
25,204 Posts
The best 6.0L is the one that's in somebody else's truck. Buy another 7.3L. ;)

But as was said, the later years, after the bugs have been worked out are better.

·
Registered
4,926 Posts
They all have their weaknesses. If you find a stock one that has been well taken care of, then you can spend a few thousand and have a decent reliability from any model year. The 2004's were a transition year (with regards to upgrades) and as such they can be a little more trouble when buying parts.

Things to look out for when buying a used one with higher mileage:
  • injector issues because of operation with low fuel pressure.
  • leaking oil cooler
  • high pressure oil system issues (the HPOP is weak in the 03-04 model years and there are more leak points in the later model years)
  • the earlier EGR coolers were a little less "leak-prone" than the late '04 and up model years, but all of the can fail
  • head gasket leaks
There are ways to thoroughly evaluate a purchase, but you can still get bit. Bottom line is that you really MUST have a scan tool when looking at a potential purchase. I would go so far as to say you need a pressure gauge to put on the degas bottle, AND (after all other testing and test driving is done) you need to take it in an have a dealership run a fuel pressure test and an injector contribution test.

·
Registered
22 Posts