The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys so its alternator time and the reman I picked up today has a different size pulley than the pulley on the reman that is being replaced! :grin2:

New alt had a smaller pulley than what I have been running for the last x2 years. Maybe I have been using the wrong pulley or maybe it doesn't really matter?

Only problem is I don't really know what the correct size pulley is I should be using? It is not a huge difference between the 2.

2003 7.3l single alternator

Can anyone take a few minutes to measure their pulley diameter? It would be greatly appreciated. No need to measure at the ribs just the outside of the front of the pulley will do.

Thanks all!

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
My 1999 7.3 single alt., measures 2-1/2", using a construction tape & hooking it on outside. Also I carry a spare alt that I had rebuilt & tested, & with a pulley. IIRC the alt guy had to swap out pulley size to match.

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cool thank you. I should have posted this thread w measurements of both pulleys. I will measure what is installed on my van when I get to it.

Anyone else have anything different than 2.5"

My thoughts were higher output at idle w the smaller pulley as it would be spinning faster.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Think about it for a minute.

Pulley size does not matter unless you run the engine at maximum RPMs or idle for long periods with lights, air and other stuff running.

Because in normal driving where your engine is changing speeds from maybe 1200 RPM to 3,000 RPM, the alternator is efficient at whatever RPM it is running at all of those speeds.

Unless the pulley is very large and your driving is mostly in town at very low speeds, I would not worry about it.

I am no tech. Just thinking at through.

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Spinning an alternator faster produces more current at a given RPM.