The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had a feeling one of my hub locks was broken so I lifted the truck and engaged the 4wd.. noticed only 1 front tire was spinning.

It'll take a week for the new one to come in but the NE is expecting snow. Can I use the 4wd with only 1 hub lock working ?

Thanks

·
Registered
42 Posts
It won't hurt anything, but the open diff might not put much power down if one side is free spinning. I'm not an expert by any means on 4wd components. If it were mine, I would find soft ground or gravel, put it in 4wd and try to spin out to see if the front throws dirt or just rolls along. If it doesn't seem to be pulling, I would consider it a 2wd until repaired (obviously). Kind of a lame answer, but I saw nobody else chimed in...

·
Registered
4 Posts
If you have an "open" differential, and only one hub engaged, it won't give you any traction. If you have a locker, then you can get away with one hub.
An open diff requires resistance at both axle shafts or the power is released through the spider gears. One hub disengaged would have the same effect as if you had one tire on ice and the other on a dry surface. The path of least resistance receives the most power. (or all the power)

·
Registered
4 Posts
I just reread your post and I don't think I answered your question. Engaging the 4wd (transfer case) with one hub locked, won't hurt anything. It just won't provide any traction at the front axle unless you have a locked differential.

·
Registered
5,125 Posts