The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm getting mixed signals as to what my axle is (which is important since the fluid was recently changed).

I asked the mechanic (this was done just before I purchased the vehicle) if my diff was free float or limited slip. He said float.

My door tag says my axle is F2 which is supposedly a 4.10 limited slip.

I've attached the tag. I have limited experience with Fords, but if I recall correctly the limited slip diffs usually have an "LS" between the 4 and 10. Maybe someone here can confirm this.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
9,596 Posts
The tag shows that it is a 4:10 open diff.

It isn't uncommon for someone to switch out the rear end if they have had a failure. At times it is easier to swap rear ends than it is to fix them.

Also don't worry about it being a open diff. From what I have heard the limited slip is as close to a open diff as you can get.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I do a lot of driving in loose sand. What do you think of installing a lunchbox locker like a PowerTrax? Is this diff an 8.8? Still don't know what all the numbers mean other than a 4 and 10

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
...or a Detroit True Track (seems better for pavement)

·
Premium Member
9,596 Posts
Any locking rear end is going to be better than a open diff or even the limited slip that in in these trucks.

The rear end is a Sterling 10.25

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
...free float or limited slip.
Part of your confusion comes from terminology. Floating & limited slip refer to independent characteristics of the axle assembly.

A differential (the mechanism that allows driven wheels to turn at different speeds) can be open, limited slip, torque-biasing, part-time locking, full-locking, or a spool (which isn't actually a differential, but it takes the diff's place). This diagram's caption explains the differences: