The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been developing my DIY refinery for a couple of years. I convert waste mineral oils or plastic to a diesel weight fuel. My most recent run produced 48 gallons in 9 hours.

In brief the set up heats the feedstock to 700 -800f (380 -420c), cracks the viscosity down to the specific gravity of diesel then condenses the fuel, leaving the carbon behind. The fuel comes out clear ~amber ~red colors and is proving to keep injectors and glow plugs clean in my 3 liter Toyota van.

The link to my blog shows various prototypes including the latest iteration, the mk6 Orion. Various Youtube clips are linked. There is lots of pages of info and pictures of the build process. Also archived early experimental set ups. Please be aware that the machine is a prototype and not expected to be the final model. It is work in progress but ideas may be freely copied. Hope it helps. Feel free to chat. Thanks.
Fuel from waste oil & plastic DIY Orion

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
I confess that at first, I was leery of clicking on your link, fearing it was a scam. But, you seem to be a backyard engineer doing some well thought out development. Many will say "it can't be done." I know better than to say that. It usually means it will take longer. Keep going and thanks for reporting.

I haven't read through your material entirely. I see you are ending up with a carbon crust (coke?). Do you also end up with tars and heavier oils or are they used as a fuel as well?

The carbon will probably have fuel value, compressed as a briquette. The other thing to investigate is the purity as straight carbon. If so, look into biochar as a soil amendment.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·