2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys I am going to start off saying my grammar sucks
I am new to the diesels just bought my first one for $700 old plow truck
1993 Ford F250 7.3L Non Turbo =(
124K on the dash
4WD
Lots of Rust came with it

Only real problems that came with the truck was rotted out break lines, rust, hard starts, /trans wont shift

1)Break lines I fixed already

2) Rust still there

3)hard starts I changed my glow plugs now light stays on for proper amount of time and truck starts up fine

3) trans.... nothing but problems been doing a lot of research on different pages everyone keeps telling me that it is a electrical issue

Symptoms: Colum shifter is a little jacked up due to it being a plow truck drive reverse respectively
Shifts into 1 and works fine
Shifts into 2 and works fine
Shifts into Neutral fine
Reverse works fine

But when you put it in to Drive it will not shift out of 1st gear is there anyone here that has had this problem and can help me out or point me in the right direction I was told I have a crap transmission and its equivalent the pile crap that Chrysler uses the 42RE

·
Registered
3,553 Posts
Read the codes for sure. Click on Marks " Fords OBD", color should be Blue but since the forum has changed it's brown.

Your Tach and speedo has to be working.

·
Registered
1,847 Posts
It's that big hex with wires coming from it right in front. On or beside (I don't remember without going out to look) the IP gear cover.

·
Registered
12 Posts