The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Forgive me if this has been asked in the past, but I have searched extensively and haven't found an answer yet. I am a noob, so please have patience. I have learned a lot from these forums in the past, but just now found a need to create a post.

I recently discovered a crack in one of my front wheels (factory aluminum). Part 4c3z1007ka, stamped 2c34-1007-ba. I discovered these wheels are prone to crack (after talking with several wheel shops including the dealership) and have decided to find another option, preferably chrome steel. I am not having much luck finding a wheel i like in the same size and offset (16x6 8x170mm 5.35" offset). The only option the dealership has is the original wheel or the steel spare. Most wheel shops around here only have one option if any.

I recently bought 6 new tires so changing from the 16" isn't really an option.

I am considering just purchasing two fronts for now, since the crack is on the driver front wheel. Does anyone know if a different wheel width and/or offset amount would work without any rubbing or steering issues? Most wheels that I am finding have less offset that stock.

I am not concerned with matching the rears specs since I run different treads on the fronts and never rotate to the rear.

2004 f350 sd DRW 4x4 6.0 lariat crewcab 235/85/16

Thanks in advance for your time and help!

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
I believe Alcoa makes the Ford factory wheels. I have heard there's a recall on some of them for cracks and Alcoa will send you a new set.

I would check into that if I were you.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds convincing. In the research I have already done, the only brand names I recall seeing were Accuride and Firestone. But I will do some more digging and see what I can find out about Alcoa.
Thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·