The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's not often we speak or think about the safety aspects of our trucks until it's needed. Yesterday I was driving through an intersection and I was T-Boned in my 2011 F-250 (Lariat) 6.7 diesel on the driver's side by a Honda Accord. This pushed me out of the intersection causing a secondary impact with the light pole. Once my truck came to a stop I heard the Onstar activate and said it detected an accident. I thought holy crap it works!

I got out of the truck with only slight muscle stiffness at the time. The side impact airbags and the design of the truck I feel greatly minimized the injury to me. I am not a safety expert but I have complete confidence in the Ford F-250 and it's design. I will continue to feel safe having my family in this truck.

I am expecting my truck to be a total loss and the used value will not get me into a new one. I took care of this truck and it was immaculate! Sucks to think I won't find another truck similar to this as clean. I am forced back into the market for a new one. I could only hope the aluminum bodies are equally as safe but I am sure the design features in the newer trucks have to be improved over the last 8 years.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
25,361 Posts
Wow! Hope everyone else was OK as well.
I'm sure that's a total. That sucks. I would be bummed if that happened to me. I'd probably be hurt worse, cause I only have the two front air bags.
I hope the other guy's insurance makes you whole. Unfortunately, that's not that likely.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fingers crossed but the other person was also ok....They only had initial impact but side impact air bags work well!

·
Premium Member
4,135 Posts
Damn ...glad to hear all is well with you. Trucks come and go...there's only one of you.

Not sure when Ford used OnStar in factory builds. I'll take your word for it....LOL

·
Registered
242 Posts