Discussion Starter #1
so my 2 month 2 thousand mile 6.7 spun a bearing
ford idea of a acceptable fix is a short block
so i end up 2 month old $55,000 truck
that the engine was removed and rebuilt by the dealer
cust. service said since the engineers said to just replace the block
not a complete engine or even a long block that cant be changed
thanks ford great customer service
why did it spin a bearing anyway bad block?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Sorry about your problem on such a new truck but Ford for the most part determines how the vehicle will be fixed.The engine wasn't rebuilt ,it had a short block installed.

I'd be interested to see what happened .

·
Registered
507 Posts
I work in the aircraft industry overhauling propeller controls for C-130 and P-3 aircraft. these parts are 40 plus years old. We change the parts that are worn or broke and put it back on the aircraft. It works for airplanes, why isn't a NEW shortblock good enough for you? There was nothing wrong with the heads or other components, and you have a full factory waranty. What's the problem? Sure it sucks that your new truck was apart, but Ford will stand behind it. I wouldn't sweat it.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I work in the aircraft industry overhauling propeller controls for C-130 and P-3 aircraft. these parts are 40 plus years old. We change the parts that are worn or broke and put it back on the aircraft. It works for airplanes, why isn't a NEW shortblock good enough for you? There was nothing wrong with the heads or other components, and you have a full factory waranty. What's the problem? Sure it sucks that your new truck was apart, but Ford will stand behind it. I wouldn't sweat it.
I'd be doing more than sweating. Most dealers don't have the capability of effecting such a repair, especially to the standards that a new motor is assembled to.