The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the forum. I would really appreciate some help and advice. I have a 2005 6.0 diesel Excursion. I love my truck and I believe my head gaskets just blew. While going on a family trip, my radiator cracked. Did not realized it till it was too late. I have white smoke coming out of my trucks exhaust. I worked as a general mechanic for about 15 years and I do all of the mechanical work on my cars. I have done about two dozen gas engine heads and I would like to do my truck's heads gasket replacement myself. I just would like to know how much different is the work. I look at the diesel engine and it generally looks the same as a V8. Please advise if this is something that I can do myself. I would really appreciate it. FYI, I have fixed my trucks turbo myself. Thanking you guys in advance

·
Registered
36 Posts
I am also in the process of doing head gaskets... my friends truck...04 6.0.. ....then my truck...04 6.0....next month...... anyways... the main difference I can tell is....EVERYTHING is heavy... and dirty..lol... I too was a general mechanic... it did take us about 12 hrs. From draining coolant and oil...To get the heads off... it is a learning curve of what comes off first... second... blah blah blah... we are doing it with the cab on... no real difficulties... just have a friend with long arms and fingers... it'll come in handy..... if you can turn a wrench... and be somewhat patient.... it should not be too bad..... good luck and just do it...lol:thumbsup:

·
Registered
2,330 Posts