The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Im kinda new to the 7.3L psd world, only got it in april, and was only able to start it (ex-ambulance) in summer. When it hit 50 degrees last month it wouldn't start. Now it goes down to 30 degress at night and i havent even tried to crank it. Can i just plug the block heater for a few hours and try? Is the heater enough to warm it in 45 degree weather?

·
Registered
4,988 Posts
Yes the block heater works great and should really help starting in below freezing weather. HOWEVER a 7.3 should start without block heater help at 0 degrees. If it won't start at 50 degree you have problems. Even without glow plug use the 7.3 should start a freezing temp (32 degrees). So do a search on how to check your glow plug system. If it won't start at 50 degrees I suspect you have problems with batteries, alternator, or starter. Check each one before you just start throwing parts. A simple search will turn up lots of good posts on how to check each system/part. I have done a -20 degree cold soak start on a 7.3 without block heater use. It was not happy but it did start. DENNY

·
Registered
499 Posts
Here's your link. Make sure you don't have old oil, your batteries are fully charged/good, that all electrical connections are good, first. Then follow the instructions here Hard/No Start? Check here first.

·
Premium Member
9,772 Posts
I will never try to start a cold diesel engine without making use of the starting aids like the glow plugs, even when the temperatures are fairly warm.

I won't even plug in the block heater until the temperatures are on the negative side of 0

Sent from my SM-J737V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,437 Posts