The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I am a complete noob when it comes to diesel trucks. Last night I purchased a 2001 f350 DRW 7.3L Powerstroke. Ran good on test drive and coming home and such. Had no problems. Had to work early this morning and it had gotten cold lastnight gonna say high 30's or so. Before I went to bed I read through owners manual to understand cold starting. Thought I understood it, guess I was wrong. Went out this morning ( didnt plug it in) turned the key to on for glow plugs, tried to start it cranked about 10 sec tried again after and no dice. turned key off then back to on and let plugs warm then tried again. Did this about 3 or 4 times careful not to over crank it. Almost started on last try and now all it does is click. Batteries are both new but terminals are neg is loose and positive is lightly crusty. Dont know what to do, had to call in to work day after i bought it smh. Any and all input is greatly appreciated. Thank you

·
Premium Member
14,443 Posts
Welcome to the diesel world. You very likely have multiple bad glow plugs or a bad glow plug relay. Kevin has a tutorial on how to check. I will insert a link in a bit. You also need strong batteries fully charged which it seems you had and sufficient cranking speed. This can be hindered in freezing weather by thick oil. You might consider changing to 5w40 synthetic for your winter months. I also would suggest installing the “marinco mod” to make plugging in easier. Use the Noco plug as it closes better than Marinco's. I actually have two- one for my block heater and one for a permanently mounted trickle charger.

http://www.thedieselstop.com/forums/f47/hard-no-start-check-here-first-75094/

https://www.thedieselstop.com/contents/getitems.php3?Marinco Block Heater Plug Mod

[ame]https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009ANV81S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1[/ame]

·
Registered
182 Posts