The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for help on where to start troubleshooting an intermittent speedometer on my 2000 F250 diesel:

Symptoms:
-speedometer has 2 states either working correctly or pinned at 39 mph but goes to 0 when stopped (not completely consistent but seems to work more often in cooler temps?)
-cruise control still works at any speed, even when speedometer isn't.
-No CEL or codes

It started happening sparingly maybe 5 years ago and has progressively been happening more often probably 95% not working now, but will still occasionally work. I've ended up just throwing a cheap GPS in the cab and use that for speed info.

I've been driving it less and less so am thinking of selling. I think it will sell better with a working speedometer, so I'd like to get it working if I can get it figured out and fixed relatively cheaply. I'm far from a mechanic but pretty handy just looking for some suggestions on where to start.

·
Super Moderator
25,361 Posts
If you've already changed out the speed sensor in the rear axle housing, you may be looking at a problem with the instrument cluster itself. The fact that the cruise works kind of points that way.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If you've already changed out the speed sensor in the rear axle housing, you may be looking at a problem with the instrument cluster itself. The fact that the cruise works kind of points that way.
Thanks,

I haven't changed the speed sensor as I assumed since the cruise was working the speed sensor was as well; can anyone verify they use the same sensor for sure?

I haven't had any experience with clusters going out, would it be typical for only one gauge to be affected? all the other gauges on the cluster are working correctly.