The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heyy im new to the 7.3 and I was moving the truck when I noticed this leak i dont know what it is though, someone help plz its a sort of pinkish liquid

·
Premium Member
9,455 Posts
If it is pink odds are that it is transmission fluid.

You need to clean it up as good as possible and then watch it to see if you can see where it is coming from

·
Registered
5,298 Posts
Transmission cooler lines - poorly repaired and should not be hanging down that far. Once upon a time when completing transmission repairs/replacement and flushing it was required to install an in-line filter which required cutting one line. Since this is both cooler lines I might guess that someone replaced the lines and cut them or replaced only half - people do strange things. It is acceptable to use hose like that but I would trim the lines to allow them to be properly positioned and secured using compression fittings with hose fittings and install new pieces of hose with new clamps.

If the lines meet up after removing the hoses then a straight compression joint would be most secure and least likely to leak if installed correctly.

Or you could replace the lines entirely...the truck in the picture does not look like rust is an issue so I am a little perplexed as to why this is like that.

·
Registered
395 Posts
What about just getting the lines in the proper position & replacing the hose (if needed) and adding TWO hydraulic clamps on EACH end to ASSURE a firm, leak proof connection vs. single worm clamps? By hydraulic clamp I mean what may be properly called a "nut & bolt clamp. Just seems like it would be easier (to me). That don't make it the (best), just easier & less $.

·
Super Moderator
26,293 Posts