The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to do the hgs and studs, and have the heads checked and resurfaced if you have a near by machine shop that you trust or have used before. I want to rebuild my oil rail, rebuild my turbo and upgrade the wheel, replace my injectors, glowplugs, egr and oil cooler and several other things while we are in there..

I live in Chicago but am willing to travel some distance to complete this job. I have been babying this thing for over a year with a bad egr cooler and almost certain the hgs are shot too.. I have been wrenching for almost 17 years and none of my vehicles have ever seen a shop; i don't trust them.. never have and never will.
Unfortunately, i don't have a garage or the space to do this in at the moment or else i would tackle this job from under the hood.
Other than the head removal tool, from what i know, there isn't any special tools required once the cab is removed? So, I should and will have all the tools needed to complete this job on hand, as well as my battery impact tools reduce the wrenching time. I want to remove the cab to perform all this work so a lift is a must. I have several shops in my area that will do this job. However, they will not allow me to participate, wont rebuild my oil rail nor service my turbo.

If anyone is interested or knows of anybody that lives near Chicago that may be interested. You have experience with the 6.0s cab removal have done head-gaskets before and a shop or garage with a lift to work in; we can work together to knock this job out faster than me working solo as this would be my first time. I am willing to pay GOOD money and i would appreciate it greatly.. Post here or PM me with details. Thanks guys and Best Regards

·
Registered
2,446 Posts