The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible to raise the idle speed while in gear without a chip/programmer? I live on the side of a Mtn with a steep-bumpy gravel drive. The wife can barely reach the petals, and every bump results in acceleration & wheel hop.
Was hoping to raise idle to around 1500rpm, then she could just "engage" high idle and steer.

·
Registered
393 Posts
My truck has the adjustable pedals so my wife can reach them even though she is pretty short ;)
Have you thought of pedal extenders/blocks?
I would think that a "high idle in gear" option would be a liability nightmare which is why no one makes one, however you could use an olde school choke cable/handle and connect it to the pedal. (yeah, I'm not a programmer). However, the potential for the truck to get away from someone is pretty high. Pedal blocks would be my recommendation.

·
Registered
2,846 Posts
A chip with a high idle tune can be had for 250.

Possibly a ford aic module

·
Registered
393 Posts
I've been wanting the high idle for the AC when the dog has to sit in the truck. I did not know it would work while in gear. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
4,341 Posts
A chip with a high idle tune can be had for 250.

Possibly a ford aic module
I have an AIC and it will not function as a high idle in the application described.

It will only function when a 4R100 is in Park or a ZF6 is in neutral and parking brake applied.

Personally, i see any type of device described by the OP as having a very big downside risk unless it could be immediately shut off by tapping the brake pedal.

Has the cruise control been tried as an alternative?

·
Premium Member
4,341 Posts
I've been wanting the high idle for the AC when the dog has to sit in the truck. I did not know it would work while in gear. Thanks.
It won't.

But an AIC would work great for what you describe of keeping the A/C running.

The originals can be operated as low as 1,300 RPM.