The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past weekend, I bought a truck - 2000 F-250 7.3L crew cab std bed 4x4. 207000 miles. I wanted to share a couple pics (and let's be honest, show it off a bit to people who appreciate this sort of thing ) and ask a whole bunch of questions. I have some experience with doing mechanical work - did a solid axle swap on an 89 Bronco - but this is my first diesel, so please don't worry about dumbing anything down too much, assume I'm an idiot. ;)

Thanks to ArcticDriver for answering questions via pm and suggesting I start a thread. I'm going to number my questions since I have a bunch of them, and it makes a lot more sense to keep them in one place. A few bigger questions and a number of minor issues.

1. By far my biggest concern, the transmission has a hard shift from 2-3. 1-2 is very smooth, 3-4 is very smooth. It's a good kick but not what I've seen people describe, i.e. "Rear ended at 20 mph". If I'm very light on the pedal the kick is very minor. I've also read that it's usually a broken spring in the valve body? Where do I start with diagnosing this?

2. Where should I run my tire pressures when not loaded? The tires on it now have a max pressure of 60, the door sticker lists 55/70 cold. My understanding is those numbers are for a fully loaded truck, should I drop them down some for daily use?

3. The drivers door requires a slam to latch, can I adjust that?

4. Anyone happen to have a part number for the door trim fasteners for the rubber at the bottom of the doors?

5. The steering is rather sloppy - I suspect it's just standard older truck looseness but at what point is it an issue? I believe the ends were replaced not too far in the past. Perhaps a stabilizer would help a bit?