The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been running about 5k mile change intervals with Royal Purple synthetic. Per Blackstone analysis, I could be going a good bit further. Is there any reason why I shouldn't run 5k, drain 4 or 5 quarts, top off with fresh oil, and run to 10k before doing a complete change? Would my big powerstroke filter (Napa gold, FL1995) handle 10k? Thanks. I drive about 9k miles a year if that's relevant.

·
Registered
46 Posts
You should either change your oil or not. What you're proposing isn't efficient or worth the effort, imho. I have no experience with RP but do know it costs a good bit more than what I'm paying for oil. If your analysis says a good bit more, try another analysis in 5K miles. You might be able to get 10K and 1 oil change a year. I wouldn't personally run any oil further than 10K miles in my truck. I change it every 5K whether it needs it or not.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You should either change your oil or not. What you're proposing isn't efficient or worth the effort, imho. I have no experience with RP but do know it costs a good bit more than what I'm paying for oil. If your analysis says a good bit more, try another analysis in 5K miles. You might be able to get 10K and 1 oil change a year. I wouldn't personally run any oil further than 10K miles in my truck. I change it every 5K whether it needs it or not.
Other than the hassle, is there anything else inefficient about doing this? I kinda see it as the peace of mind that I need to run 10k between complete changes.

·
Registered
2,303 Posts
I wouldn't bother with draining any. Did Blackstone give you a recommendation, or are you just going by the numbers? If they're still very good at 5K I'd most likely go to 10K, send in a sample, and change the oil & filter. Or send in a sample at 7.5K if you're not comfortable going to 10K.