The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am new to this and hope someone can help. I have a 2000 7.3 and am getting code p0236 and cannot get it to go away. This is what I have done. I have sent in and had ecm and idm checked and idm rebuilt. Ecm check good and all latest updates. Last owner said he had it replaced some time back. R&r map sensor and tubes. Ohmed all wires from map to ecu and check out good. All fuses are good and do not blow. Get the wait to start light and all other lights come on when key is on eng. off. Now here is the kicker. I work for a city so we have a modis, verus d10, and apollo d8 snap on scanners. So when I check in memory codes I here a click in the dash and shows the code. When I go to pending codes after memory the scanner says it cannot communicate and to check key is on which it is. Now also after clearing code in both memory and pending if there. I can drive truck and seems to be fine all readings fine showing on scanner. Put truck in park and check codes and it is back in memory code. Or if I clear it not run it and turn truck off and after while turn back on eng. off code is back in memory code. Even tried disconnecting batteries for 30 min for the keep alive memory. Anyone out there with any ideas. I have been a heavy duty diesel tech for over 20 years and have not felt with small trucks so I am rattling my brain. My next step was to run new map wire harness but feel that may be just a waste of time. Also why would the scanner cause truck to not communicate after checking memory codes. It will work once I turn key off then back on

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also if I try to start right after I go into memory codes it will crank but not turn over until I key off then back on

·
Super Moderator
25,023 Posts