The Diesel Stop banner

Realistic Towing Capacity

3K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  klhansen 
#1 ·
Hey everyone and thank you for having me.

I currently own a 99 F250 extended cab single axle with the 7.3. By far the best truck i have every owned.

I have a question regarding realistic town. I'm a small farmer and the truck carries a single round bale of hay off my spear anywhere i need it to go. I am currently shopping for a round bale hay hauler gooseneck, and am wondering if anyone has any experience with them. I don't want to overload the truck, and don't plan on driving cross country,. max 3-4 hours one way. The truck is complete stock with standard trans. I want to buy the round bale hauler that best fits the truck.

Appreciate any guidance with this.

#2 ·
Soooo, if it can tow the load for one hour it will do fine for 48 hours(to some people 4 hours is cross country)!!! If you want to be legal you are looking at around a 12,000 lb load including trailer. If you are are not pushing hills and do not need to pass any one it will pull more but it will be over the legal GVWR. How about some more info. Total miles on truck and tranny/auto or manual/ what part of the country/ any mods to the truck/early or late model 99?
DENNY

#3 ·
There is no "towing capacity" or limit - the truck can pull a battleship, for a short distance & at a low speed. The only hard limits are the legal ones when on public roads. If that's what you're asking, it's explained in the owner's manual:
http://www.fleet.ford.com/partsandservice/owner-manuals/

If you're asking what you'll be comfortable towing regardless of legal technicalities - only you can say. The more you drive the truck, the more you'll know how to tow, and the more-comfortable you'll be. So to start, stay low, and work your way up slowly. Don't jump from a single bale to 20.