The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before anyone attacks me, i did use the search function and didnt find what i was looking for. i tried google and found some, but not all questions answered.

I want to know techniques. I am new to diesels and especially new to sled pulls. My truck is a 2005 F350 with SW CC with a six inch lift. basically stock with a stc livewire, intake, and mbrp 4" stainless turbo back with duals. i only have 35" mickey thompson ATZ tires but i have heard an aggressive all terrain is good. i have been to a couple sled pulls and have seen some guys build boost, some guys roll into it and build as they go. which is best?
a lot of guys have issues with hopping which seems to break stuff. is this controlled by feathering the throttle?
i have air bags in the rear suspension. how high of pressure should i use?
what tire pressure should i run?
im not sure the weight of my truck, but if i have room to add weight, is it best to keep the weight at the back of the box as far back as i can, or directly over the axel?
i have an automatic transmission- what should i do? manually put it in 1st? 2nd? just go with drive? im assuming tow/haul mode is a good idea.
4x4 high or 4x4 low?
what kind of hitch set-up do i have to bring?
some guys rev their trucks up before they stage. why? should i?

the type of pulls i would enter would be small town fall-fair kind of thing, but i do not want to look like an idiot when i go for my first pull in front of hundreds of people that i know. any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

·
Registered
264 Posts
Before anyone attacks me, i did use the search function and didnt find what i was looking for. i tried google and found some, but not all questions answered.