The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey every body newbie here..........

I have did the search and found nothing and I have a couple of questions about the speed sensor.

1. What will happen if it is not hooked up or a rear other than sterling is installed?

2. Can it be bypassed?

Any help that any body can give me wiuld be great

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Unplug it and go for a ride to see what happens.
As I recall when mine went bad, the peedo doesnt work right and the ABS light stays on.

·
Registered
5,604 Posts
Truck will not know when to shift or how fast it is going. It is very necessary to the running of the truck.
Jim

·
Super Moderator
18,870 Posts
1. What will happen if ... a rear other than sterling is installed?
The replacement rear end must have a similar "tone ring" and VSS (variable speed sensor) connected to the ABS module. Most rear axles from the last 10 years or so have this. In your case, a Dana 80 rear end from any '99-up F-350 DRW pickup should work. It will have the DRW rear hubs, but you can probably barnyard engineer that to install single rear wheels.

·
Registered
288 Posts
mine went bad first and second gear sucked real sloppy and the speedo didnt move untill 30 mph.

·
Registered
72 Posts
That sensor went bad in my Ranger. The Spedo didnt work until 30 MPH and the ABS light was always on. Went to napa to get the part and they tried to sell me the speedometer sensor that goes on the transmission. After arguing for what seemed like an hour that it was the wrong sensor, i went to the dealer and got one.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the help I found and aftermarket external tone ring that works well. I have a friend that went through the same when changing rears it will effect the cruise, shifting and speedo

·
Registered
188 Posts
based on all the research I did (and i did a lot) it completely depends on the year and model of the automobile.