The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
Have an f-250 1986 with a 7.3 IDI NA engine. The engine it’s not the original. I bought the trucks a couple weeks ago and when I try to crank up the engine not only won’t start but smoke comes out of the starter solenoid. The cable attached on the battery seems to be the problem. Any idea what’s going on? I’m new to diesels, thanks!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
9,370 Posts
The electrical on a diesel works just like it does on a gas vehicle for the most part.

If the solenoid is smoking it could be a loose connection, bad connection, or the solenoid itself.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The electrical on a diesel works just like it does on a gas vehicle for the most part.

If the solenoid is smoking it could be a loose connection, bad connection, or the solenoid itself.
Thanks for replying. Now it’s the red cable coming from the battery as the one getting hot and smoking.

·
Premium Member
9,370 Posts
That's the one that is carrying all the current to run the starter and the rest of the electronics on the truck. It could be a corroded terminal on the end of it that is bad.

Take it off and look at the eye terminal and the copper wire going into the eye. If you see any green crud or greenish wires then odds are that is your problem. You can also take a volt/ohm meter and measure the voltage from the battery ground to different spots on the cable such as the terminals. With a digital meter you might see the voltage drop from one spot to the next. Voltage drop is bad.

·
Registered
2,094 Posts
Now it’s the red cable coming from the battery as the one getting hot and smoking.
Remove that stack of ring terminals, clean each one down to flat, shiny metal, and clean the relay stud & nut so that every surface in-contact makes a good electrical connection, as this page explains:

(click this text)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6