The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Logan. I'm in the process of converting a 99 IH 3800 T444e School Bus into a highway cruiser to take my 6 kids (our oldest has severe autism and is non-verbal) to see the country. The bus was inspected up until the 2011-2012 school year. I have taken it to my local IH dealer and they have raised the governor to 85 (from 58) and enabled the cruise control. Our goal is to go see grandma in Washington state in the spring. After reading a lot of posts here, I'm curious to the reliability of the T444e. The odometer says it has 232,000 miles and about 10,000ish hours. I'm kinda new to the having a Diesel. We've taken a few 3-4 hour trips with no issues. It did overheat on me once when it was full of furniture and pulling a trailer at high way speeds for about 2 hours straight. What kind of preventative maintenance should I look into? And what type of modifications can I do for our trip in the spring? I'm looking at getting a EGT, Transmission and Boost gauge to keep an eye on things and maybe adding a Transmission Cooler and Fan. Last thing I want to do is be stuck with my kiddos in the middle of no where.

·
Registered
823 Posts
This first question I have is what kind of transmission does it have?

The reason I ask is that if it lacks a proper overdrive, highway driving will put your engine speed well above 2,000 RPM, which is above the "sweet spot" for this engine, and could cost you a lot of $$$ in fuel and repairs.

What's the GVWR of the chassis? If the transmission is a Allison 3000 series, I'd say you're good to go. If it's a 1000, 2000, or a AT545, it might need some attention. Worst case would be the AT545, as it lacks an overdrive, and does not have a lockup torque converter.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3