The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,
I bought a 1988 F250 7.3L a few weeks ago am planning on turning her into a grease truck. She has dual tanks and is currently running great /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif I am pretty new to diesels and am having a hard time finding a manual for it. I bought a kit from Greasel and wondering if anybody out there has taken this route? Also I believe this truck is a Direct Injection, but not sure. It looks to me that the lines from the injector pump run right into the top of the cylinders, is this considered direct injection? Also having a hard time finding the fuel selector valve (where the fuel is switched from one tank to another) anybody know where this is located.
Thanks Greasers, keep on greasin.
-j

· Registered
1,329 Posts
Welcome to the greasy life... What you have is an IDI, or indirect injection. Should work fine on grease as long as you get it heated up good. Not sure where the fuel selector valve is on that year. It's a switch on the dash on later years. I've heard the greasel kits are good, but haven't seen one up close. You should be able to get the factory manuals at HELM

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info JOAT. Umm, I know the fuel selector switch is on the dash /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif, I'm looking for the valve on the fuel lines that the switch connects to. I'll trace the lines out, gotta be there somewhere. Thanks again.
-j

· Registered
894 Posts
If I were to make a bet, I believe you'll find it between the front and rear tanks, on the drivers side frame rail. Just a guess.

· Registered
1,329 Posts
[ QUOTE ]
Thanks for the info JOAT. Umm, I know the fuel selector switch is on the dash /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif, I'm looking for the valve on the fuel lines that the switch connects to. I'll trace the lines out, gotta be there somewhere. Thanks again.
-j

[/ QUOTE ]