The Diesel Stop banner

Torn intake boot...damaged turbo?

10K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Vtwinjunkie 
#1 ·
Hello all,
Let me start by saying I am new to diesels. I recently aquired a 2000 f350 1ton with a 7.3 powerstroke, automatic, 99k miles, 8'' lift, 38'' tires, looks like a custom 3 1/2 '' strait pipe exaust from the downpipe back and K&N filter.

IT ALSO HAS ONLY BEEN GETTING 10-11 MPG!

When I got home with the truck I noticed that the filter was completely clogged with dirt and mud and. After swapping it with a stock filter for the time being and changing the oil (rotella 15w40) and filter and about 4k in front end work (ball joints left and right upper and lower, steering rack, tie rods, ect) Most of the Previous damage had been corrected. but I was still blowing alot of black smoke at take off under full throttle and it would clear up after a while. and I appear the have a small oil seap from somewhere under the turbo that comes down to the trans but isnt enough to drip on the driveway...

I recently noticed a 3 inch rip in the intake boot going directly into the turbowhile looking for the cause of the oil seap! I immediatley replaced it and re installed the K&N after I thourouly cleaned and re oiled it.

Now I have a very small amount of white-ish/ gray-ish smoke just at take off under heavy throttle but no more black smoke. I havent driven it enough yet to see if my fuel economy has been getting any better.....

What do you guys think?

I also took a picture of my turbo fins when I replaced the boot...wanted to know if it still looks ok...I diddnt feel any play in the fins but there is a small chip in one....probably from all of the off roading this guy did previous to my owning it. what do you all think of the turbo?

See less See more
Discussion starter · #4 ·
++UPDATE. just went to Lunch and the smoke color I mistook this morning for white/grey was actually just a thin Black smoke.