The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Regarding my post on transmission change interval here, http://www.thedieselstop.com/forums/f24/interval-transmission-oil-change-577322/
I decided I wouldn't do another flush but did want to get some new fluid in the system so changed the Magnefine filter and drained my Maghytec pan and attached a few photos of the 1) magnetic plug with debris, 2) the debris from the plug spread on a paper towel, 3) bottom of the plastic pan I drained the fluid in to, and 4) the five small bits of debris that were on the bottom of the pan.
.....I think all this is fairly normal but since I've never done it before thought I'd ask and see what people think.
A couple notes:
On (1) above, the debris initially looked impressive on the plug but when I spread it out on a paper towel as in (2) it wasn't impressive at all. --Just a small smear of greasy sludge in which I couldn't feel much of anything with my fingertips.
Photo (3) of the pan bottom shows the tiny little dots of "dirt" and photo (4) is the four larger bits that were in the bottom of the pan. --These four bits are non metallic, look black and can be broken easily. Any idea where this material comes from?
So does this look fairly normal?
I've got 28k miles on the Mobil 1/Magnefine/6.0 cooler and usually see transmission temps 100-125, occasionally I see 140-150 on a hill but that is rare. Figure the Mobil 1 has many more miles left in it and if I replace the 12.5 qts I drained from the pan with new Mobil 1 and install anew Magnefine, I should be good.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,679 Posts
If that was from my transmission, I would be concerned about the pieces shown with the penny.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I didn't exactly like seeing those pieces ...but as it's running ok I guess I'll keep running it and wait to see when/if something happens or I get some kind of significant symptom.