The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I need help REALLY BAD! I know this forum is for Ford 6.0 however I have a 2006 International VT365 (very similar) with a turbo solenoid that won't stop "buzzing" with the key on and engine off. It is a really loud buzzing and is not the injectors, I have removed the wires from the solenoid to verify this. It buzzes 100% of the time however the tone and volume change depending on how hot the engine is, if the glow plugs are on, or if my brake compressor is on. I have replaced the EBP, EGR, the entire turbo, the actual solenoid, glow plug relay and checked/rechecked just about every wire and connection.
I don't have the ability to pull any codes (not yet) and I am a rookie at best when it comes to low voltage auto wiring. It is my guess that I have a short somewhere or my PCM is malfunctioning. There seems to be a correlation between the glow plugs and the volume and pitch of the buzzing, but that could be because the glow plugs are sucking voltage from the batteries and when they shut off more volts get sent to the PCM (this is a total guess). I did test the wires going to the solenoid and there is about 10.5 volts when the glow plugs go off, and about 9.6 when they are on.
Please help!!! I never intended to become a diesel mechanic……..
I should also add that the vehicle seems to run fine with no boost issues or power loss, there is however a lot of black smoke when I lay down the pedal but goes away immediately.

·
Registered
5,125 Posts
I'm not sure what would cause it to buzz. I will say that the best way to see if its working properly is to view the vane sweep with something that will read it like an SGII. When you start it up do you get a change in pitch of the exhaust note while its warming up at idle?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.