The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I recently bought a 2001 7.3 Ford F-350. It has a few problems, but so far everything seems manageable.

I let it sit for couple weeks in Washington State, where it's been raining a lot. I tried to start it this morning and wouldn't. Then the WATER IN FUEL light came on. I looked up a procedure to empty the fuel bowl by turning the yellow lever.

Did that. "Primed" it or whatever by turning the truck to on. After a few times I tried to start it, and it would crank but not start. So I repeated the process a couple times. And now it won't even crank.

I'm a student and I can't afford a major service :( can you please help me?

·
Registered
639 Posts
Sounds like you may need new batteries

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tried jumping the truck at first to start it and that didnt work. But why do you think that? Also, when I'm in the on position, the truck makes this weird chattering sound behind the dash and the lights start flickering.

·
Registered
639 Posts
Have you tried to start with jumper cables? These trucks will not start with low batteries. Can you check the voltage with a multimeter? The water in fuel issue is unrelated to your no crank issue.

Reactions: kylem

·
Registered
639 Posts
When jumping did it crank?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
When jumping did it crank?
Hey! I just tried it with the cables connected again and it did crank a little more. So that's awesome for a start. Thank you, I appreciate your response. I'm hoping that if I charge it a bit, it'll start completely. I've already drained quite a bit of fuel from the fuel bowl.

·
Premium Member
4,329 Posts
I'm hoping that if I charge it a bit, it'll start completely.
You can charge it “a bit” for now but be sure to fully charge the batteries overnight when you get home. Do not rely on your alternator to fully charge the batteries.