The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's a dumb question.. Had a previous thread for a similar issue trying to narrow it down farther..

Engine ran a little rough at idle more so than usual but didn't lose power nor did it overheat. I added coolant which was just a green 50/50 mixture nothing fancy (yes I'm a car newb) and I don't know almost anything about Diesels.. I'm now having white smoke at idle but no other issues at all, I don't see any leaks from the truck anywhere for coolant nor is it puking out of degas bottle but the coolant is draining out somewhere even when it's not under pressure truck has been sitting off for a week now and the coolant has well.. vanished.. Is any of this due to possibly adding a wrong type of coolant to the engine? help.. :| Newb problems.

·
Premium Member
15,107 Posts
No, the new coolant didn't cause the issue. The reason you had to add coolant to begin with is your likely issue. Probably a ruptured EGR cooler. Pull your EGR valve to check for moisture. When you get it fixed, drain and flush and refill with an extended life coolant.

·
Registered
5,125 Posts
Coolant doesn't vanish, it goes into one or more cylinders past a blown head gasket and gets burned off creating steam, which is likely the white smoke you're seeing. Try smelling it. I bet it doesn't smell like Diesel, but kind of sickly sweet like coolant. I'm betting on a blown HG.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I smelled it and it definitely doesn't smell sweet at all kinda burns your eyes lol

·
Registered
5,125 Posts
That's a rich fuel mixture. If that's the case I'd suspect a bad injector. Get a contribution test run. If it has over 100k on it I'd give serious thought to replacing all the injectors on the bank with the bad one, if not all of them. Injector life expectancy is typically 100-150k.

·
Premium Member
478 Posts